Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Children in Need 18:47 - Nov 17 with 20833 viewsgtsb1966

Does anyone listen to radio 2 in the mornings. They had appeals from children who benefit from this event. You couldn't help but listen with a lump in your throat. Life can be so cruel. Their enthusiasm and determination was a lesson to us all. Made me realise I've got nothing to complain about.
on 22:55 - Nov 17 with 4164 views_

Children in Need on 22:49 - Nov 17 by Swansea_Blue

Have you been living in a bubble Libby? Benefit cheats are caught and prosecuted all the time. Just do a trawl through news pages. No idea how big the problem is mind, but I suspect those who are caught are not the sum total.

*But* the system should be geared to those who need it, not designed to hinder frauds at the cost of genuine claimants. I've no experience personally, but hear enough grumblings via colleagues and extended family that suggest things are not right under the current Govt.

There's some shocking stories published in the press too. You have to recognise that these are not the bigger picture, but nonetheless people's lives are being ruined when the system fails.

I don't know what I'm trying to say really! Other than of course there are frauds - lots of court cases prove that. But yes, agree with you that the effect of a bad system is massive on those affected.

Children in Need on 22:55 - Nov 17 with 4172 viewsgtsb1966

on 22:46 - Nov 17 by _

That made me laugh. Devoid of context but showing a benefit cheat. Just accept there are are millions of people who need benefits yet thousands who shouldn't get a penny because they are lazy.
on 22:57 - Nov 17 with 4155 views_

Children in Need on 22:55 - Nov 17 by gtsb1966

That made me laugh. Devoid of context but showing a benefit cheat. Just accept there are are millions of people who need benefits yet thousands who shouldn't get a penny because they are lazy.