Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Another brief kids' football rant 18:57 - Jan 24 with 12514 viewssparks

Ive been coaching player X for 3 years now About 6 months fun mini football. Then guiding him through his first ever proper games, his first goals, becoming a genuinely decent striker for his age, 2 full seasons for the club, and half of this season.

He has spent more time on the pitch than most.

Since the end of last year, I have not had any response from his parents on whatsapp when organising games, and he hasnt appeared at training. Today, after nearly 4 weeks of radio silence, I get an email from the secretary of another club asking me to send them over the player's "FA FAN number" so they can get him registered.

I sent his mum a message earlier asking if there were any reasons- so we could run the club better going forwards, saying he was welcome back anytime, and asking for return of the shirt as other players are currently making do with old style ones.

It was read at 6.15. Ive not had the courtesy of a reply.

There's fecking gratitude for you. Not paid his subs for the year yet either...

The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely to be preferred to the presence of those who think they've found it. (Sir Terry Pratchett)
Poll: Is Fred drunk this morning?

Another brief kids' football rant on 19:06 - Jan 24 with 6907 viewsBluefish

I find the whole thing about going after good players as kids as despicable whether it is local or park football. I've run a team for years and when some choose to seek a higher team I wish them well and tell them they would be welcome back if it doesn't work out. I have never tried to sign a kid from elsewhere and I don't say no to kids if I have a space in the squad regardless of how good they are. They are children and they all develop at different times, let them play and let them enjoy themselves.