Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Golfers handicap advice 21:36 - Jul 10 with 1373 viewsBluefish

Couple of things on golf handicaps. I am just getting into golf again after not being able to play for a few years and only being sociable player before that. I was always very inconsistent but having played 4 times in the past couple of months and getting measured for new irons I have already seen a big improvement in consistency.

My questions are

What is a good way to work out a handicap for me without joining a club? Any online recommendations?

What is your best advice to start pushing myself on? I am looking at joining a club but realistically I wouldn't get any value for another couple of years. I'm playing monthly in a local society that travels round and the odds games here and there but this will drop off in the football season.

FORE RIGHT!

Poll: Who has performed the worst but oddly loved the most?
Blog: [Blog] Long Live King George

Golfers handicap advice on 21:41 - Jul 10 with 1355 viewshatch

There may be a website that does it for you but I’d take your last 5 or 6 cards and average your handicap from them?
Golfers handicap advice on 21:44 - Jul 10 with 1340 viewsBluefish

Golfers handicap advice on 21:41 - Jul 10 by hatch

There may be a website that does it for you but I’d take your last 5 or 6 cards and average your handicap from them?

I thought the original handicap setting had more to it than that but I might be wrong. I thought it capped shots per hole based on the par and then worked out the handicap? I was sure that is how it worked, I remember my best mate starting on about 15 despite never hitting a round close to it at the time

Golfers handicap advice on 21:48 - Jul 10 with 1331 viewshatch

Golfers handicap advice on 21:44 - Jul 10 by Bluefish