Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
4-4-2 - Downes and Skuse 14:08 - Aug 12 with 2175 viewsWestcountryblue

At the start of the season i was delighted to see Jackson and Norwood given a go in a 4-4-2. I thought it was a positive move that rewarded both for their excellent form in pre season. However, after watching the game on Saturday i'm not too sure 4-4-2 is the best formation for us with Downes and Skuse in the middle. We huffed and puffed but didn't look incisive enough to provide our front 2 with the kind of service they need.

Downes and Skuse by trade are central defensive midfielders, with Flynn being the more expansive and forward thinking of the 2. While both have been outstanding so far this season, i do think we need someone with the quality of Huws or Dozzell to provide Norwood/Jackson with a better level of service, especially when we are at home.

It would be a real tough call, but if we do persist with the 4-4-2, i'd personally prefer Huws to Skuse in the middle, as he is a cut above and will provide more forward impetus to the team. That, or we go Norwood up top with Judge or Huws in the more advanced role (or play both in a three with Downes).

We have a plethora of midfielders who are arguably too good for this division, i think there will be some tough calls ahead for Lambert.
[Post edited 12 Aug 2019 14:10]
4-4-2 - Downes and Skuse on 15:13 - Aug 12 with 2014 viewsMaySixth

Good post, Skuse was excellent Saturday but we need a bit more creativity based on the two games I have seen.

We could play a diamond with Judge in behind the strikers and Downes at the base.

Poll: Ladapo or Hirst to start up front against Peterborough?

4-4-2 - Downes and Skuse on 15:30 - Aug 12 with 1974 viewsClapham_Junction

I thought 4-4-2 worked in the first half against Sunderland when Rowe and Garbutt actually kept their positions.