Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Despatches From The Front Line part 8: A Letter To My MP 15:19 - May 25 with 6206 viewsBlueBadger

Dear Sir,

I am a senior nurse working for the NHS. Currently I am working as a senior staff nurse on the intensive care unit at [redacted] hospital but my 'proper' job is working in Critical Care Outreach - I have been redeployed from my 'day' job in order to staff a busy and expanded intensive care unit.
Both jobs involve the planning, delivery and evaluation of care for the sickest, most vulnerable people in the hospital, albeit in very different ways. I work hard at my job, one which I have seen change immeasurably through the past few months to ensure that the sickest, most vulnerable people in the West and South Suffolk community receive optimal care as soon as possible to the highest possible standard. Over the past few weeks, I have worked to prevent people going into ITU, facilitated their transfer into ITU, worked to support the sickest of the sick through an illness which leading clinics are still developing an understanding of.
I have supported my colleagues, some of whom are very senior, some of whom very junior in coming to terms changing roles, guidelines and policies.
I have supported the relatives of the dying through the worst news possible, delivered in the worst fashion possible - remotely and via a digital or phone connection.
When not at work, I like the the rest of the community around me have been diligently observing lockdown rules and social distancing guidelines so I don't have to keep donning uncomfortable PPE for hours on end for any longer than I have to.
I have also been supporting my extremely vulnerable neighbour who suffered from mental health problems and severe breathing difficulties.