Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Integrated supply chains 14:30 - Sep 21 with 2209 viewsbluelagos

When I studied / worked, we were told "just in time" supply chains were the gold standard. You limited/eliminated stock holding costs, reduced wastage (from obsolete/perishable stocks) - you ended up with cheaper and higher quality product and that was then moved to the consumer, again, with shortest possible lead times.

Every one is happy...the manufacturer, the retailer, the customer.

Except it seems it's complete bollox. One thing goes wrong and the whole supply chain grinds to a halt. Whether it is shortages of drivers or Co2 - queues at borders - delays from Chinese factories - whatever causes the various shortages - our supply chains are so lean and integrated that we are clearly exposed the minute one link goes to tits.

And if you think I am being over dramatic, if the Co2 runs out, you won't get beer in the pubs (apart from hand pulled ales) as Co2 is used to pull the beer to the dispensing points. Gravity only works where the beer is above the pumps and 99% of pubs have cellars, so that isn't an option...

No way to dispense beer in pubs, due to fertiliser factories closing down. Fookin great.

Poll: This new lockdown poll - what you reckon?

Integrated supply chains on 15:20 - Sep 21 with 2104 viewsWeWereZombies

Having a squint at 'just in time' on Wikipedia, or lean manufacturing as they prefer to term it, because I wanted to find what the Japanese originally called it and what their principles were. A couple of points to bear in mind:

Post war there was chronic unemployment there so any slack in the system was quickly taken up by recruiting. Currently a skills shortage puts this advantage at a disadvantage.