Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Currently doing a fun job - reading legal documentation for a flat purchase 15:11 - Aug 5 with 1148 viewsThe_Flashing_Smile

I have an English Language degree (look at me, etc.) but I'm struggling to get my head around this...

"AND the Purchasers to the intent that the covenant hereinafter contained shall bind the said property into whosesoever hands the same may come for the benefit of the adjoining and neighbouring lands belonging to the Commissioners or any part or parts thereof hereby for themselves and their successors in title covenant with the Commissioners that they will observe and perform the stipulations and restrictions set out in the Second Schedule hereto. THE SECOND SCHEDULE above referred to THAT the Purchasers shall not be entitled to the benefit of any covenant or reservation in any Conveyances or Leases made or granted by the Commissioners of lands and premises adjoining opposite or near to the said property enabling the Commissioners to deal as they may think fit with adjoining or neighbouring lands without regard to the light and air enjoyed by the owner lessee tenant or occupier of the land comprised in the said Conveyances or Leases nor the benefit of any restrictive covenant stipulation or condition or any other covenant reservation right condition or obligation contained in any Conveyances or Leases made or granted by the Commissioners of the said lands and premises adjoining opposite or near to the said property or elsewhere in the said County Borough of Croydon or adjoining or adjacent Parishes."

I might be wrong but I think it's essentially saying "Don't do anything that messes with your neighbours' light and air, and they can't do it to you"?!? If so, why can't they just say that? Seems like they're trying to be deliberately obtuse, the feckers.

Trust the process. Trust Phil.