Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Our rightful level in football 13:36 - Jan 24 with 3897 viewsBluefish

I have been talking about this for a couple of years on here because it baffles me with the expectation levels of some but I know a lot of people think I am nuts so I did some very quick stats

If you treat football since the premier league starting in 1992 then we have spent 5 season in the premier league. This puts us in joint 34th with forest, hill and wolves. The premier league has 20 teams so we would be 14th in championship on that basis. It obviously isn't completely scientific though.

Parachute payments however were the big change and they came about in 2007 so 5 years after we left. This means not only are we 14th with a level playing field, we are actually well below due to the way parachutes payments have distorted the game. Marcus Evans obviously bought us that same year sensing a chance to get the new inflated riches of the premier league, little did he know by missing the boat early on it made that dream more and more expensive and harder to chase.

Clubs that have more seasons than us include

Swansea
QPR
Portsmouth
Derby
Birmingham
Wigan
Wednesday
norwich
Charlton
Coventry
Stoke
Leeds
Bolton
Boro
Sunderland
Blackburn
Villa

Why do we think we have a claim ahead of these clubs? It is romantic to say football didn't start in 92 but it definitely changed and it changed even more so in 2007

[Post edited 24 Jan 2019 13:47]

Poll: Who has performed the worst but oddly loved the most?
Blog: [Blog] Long Live King George

Our rightful level in football on 13:44 - Jan 24 with 3533 viewsFixed_It

Good post (but needs editing!).

A mate of mine always bemoans us losing against 'pub teams' - ignoring the fact that we have had more years of mediocrity than many of them since our glory years.