Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Do brexiteeer MP's understand the WTO 14:20 - May 22 with 2506 viewsNo9

While they are happy to make a lot of noise about the WTO do any of them really understand it & how it works?
Maybe this one doesn''t know much at all-

https://inews.co.uk/news/uk/andrea-jenkyns-brexit-tory-mp-wto-rules-countries-bb
Do brexiteeer MP's understand the WTO on 14:29 - May 22 with 1995 viewsSwansea_Blue

No, especially Art 24 of GATT.

Their claims have been dismissed so many times by trade experts, including the bloke that helped write it, that obviously they're (a) not prepared to listen and a bit thick, or (b) deliberately lying to their supporters. I suspect it's a mixture of the two - maybe the likes of Moggy are the liars and the likes of Andrea Jenkyns are just thick.

Welcome to post-truth Britain, where what you've been convinced to believe is more important than what's correct.

Poll: Do you think Pert is key to all of this?

Do brexiteeer MP's understand the WTO on 14:35 - May 22 with 1980 viewsOldsmoker

Most countries who trade on WTO rules have also established Trade agreements with their main import/export countries. They replace the WTO rules with their own agreements.
So, WTO is the start position for trading and is not a coverall.
The fact that nations seek their own trade agreements shows that WTO rules are not desirable.

Don't believe a word I say. I'm only kidding. Or am I?
Poll: What mode is best?

Do brexiteeer MP's understand the WTO on 14:47 - May 22 with 1953 viewsPinewoodblue

Do brexiteeer MP's understand the WTO on 14:35 - May 22 by Oldsmoker

Most countries who trade on WTO rules have also established Trade agreements with their main import/export countries. They replace the WTO rules with their own agreements.
So, WTO is the start position for trading and is not a coverall.