Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Kilimanjaro 22:39 - Jul 17 with 4296 viewschoppers

Next summer i am looking to climb Kilimanjaro with a friend to raise money for a charity close to my heart. Was just wondering if anyone has ever climbed Kilimanjaro or something similar? I've never done something like this before and any advice would be much appreciated
on 07:23 - Jul 18 with 4211 views_

Kilimanjaro on 07:25 - Jul 18 with 4199 viewsBluetaff

Just sent you a PM

Blog: The National Conundrum

Kilimanjaro on 07:31 - Jul 18 with 4187 viewsemergencylime

I did it in Feb. Well worth it. Did Lemosho route over 7 days, you can do it quicker but the body struggles to acclimatise. Couple of tough days, especially the final night, where we walked for 8 hours in order to reach the summit as the sun rose.
I booked thru Ian Taylor Trekking, who do an optional Safari afterwards...was the perfect detox instead of getting the plane home (or going to Dar Es Salam which is a dive apparently). One of the group went on to Zanzibar for a few days to lie on a beach.
Has definitely whetted my appetite to do more, am saving up for Patagonia now.

Poll: Another Tragical Vegas poll. Would you rather?

Kilimanjaro on 07:35 - Jul 18 with 4182 viewswrightsrightglove

I've been up a couple of times and it's an incredible experience and actually a very accessible mountain for people of all levels of experience (although still very hard graft.) If you go though a 'big tour operator' then it's definitely pricey although they'll organise flights, visas, kit etc. etc. If you're willing to do some of the organisation stuff (flights etc.) yourself then this cuts the cost a lot.