Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Banter or Hate? 09:09 - Jul 12 with 11143 viewsCovJet

Dear Ipswich Town supporters,

I’m a Wolves fan — coming in peace and hoping you can help me out…

But before I continue, let me congratulate you on an amazing season. I’m sure the Canaries are a tad nervous!

I’m a senior Lecturer at Birmingham City University, writing academic papers as part of my PhD portfolio (Koln University). My research has a focus on the language used by football fans at games — for some people it’s ‘banter’ and for others, it has become a ‘hate crime’. It is a complex, emotive issue.

I want to find out what you think of the language used — I want you to be honest.

The questionnaire is entirely voluntary and completely anonymous. I will only use the data I obtain for academic papers and once complete I will share the data with you on this forum. I have ethical approval granted from Koln University and approval from your administrator for this forum.

I will be comparing your answers with those from supporters of Arsenal, Watford, Wolves, Plymouth and Newcastle.

The questionnaire should only take you a couple of minutes and I would like to thank you in advance. Here is the link:

https://questionpro.com/t/AX3LcZyJou

Kind regards,

Peter Evans
Banter or Hate? on 13:28 - Jul 14 with 1677 viewsBigCommon

Banter or Hate? on 13:07 - Jul 14 by Herbivore

What do you see as being the difference? Both are forms of discrimination and prejudice based on protected characteristics of individuals.

I don't count gay people as being of different race, just because they are gay...
Earlier in the thread, someone compared a "holding hands" song, to chucking bananas at black football players.. To me, that's a bizzare comparison.
Banter or Hate? on 13:32 - Jul 14 with 1668 viewsBlueBadger

Banter or Hate? on 14:03 - Jul 12 by blueasfook