Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Banter or Hate? 09:09 - Jul 12 with 11142 viewsCovJet

Dear Ipswich Town supporters,

I’m a Wolves fan — coming in peace and hoping you can help me out…

But before I continue, let me congratulate you on an amazing season. I’m sure the Canaries are a tad nervous!

I’m a senior Lecturer at Birmingham City University, writing academic papers as part of my PhD portfolio (Koln University). My research has a focus on the language used by football fans at games — for some people it’s ‘banter’ and for others, it has become a ‘hate crime’. It is a complex, emotive issue.

I want to find out what you think of the language used — I want you to be honest.

The questionnaire is entirely voluntary and completely anonymous. I will only use the data I obtain for academic papers and once complete I will share the data with you on this forum. I have ethical approval granted from Koln University and approval from your administrator for this forum.

I will be comparing your answers with those from supporters of Arsenal, Watford, Wolves, Plymouth and Newcastle.

The questionnaire should only take you a couple of minutes and I would like to thank you in advance. Here is the link:

https://questionpro.com/t/AX3LcZyJou

Kind regards,

Peter Evans
Banter or Hate? on 13:26 - Jul 12 with 1658 viewsBigCommon

Banter or Hate? on 12:54 - Jul 12 by jayessess

A logic that would also merrily justify pretty much any homophobia (as well as any racism and sexism).

Not really true either, you can be stigmatised and shamed by others, regardless of how you feel about yourself.

That's a personal mental issue, imo. And doesn't affect the majority of the population. Who can happily poke fun at one another, for a laugh...
I speak from experience.. I dont expect others to tailor their lifestyles to suit my issues..