Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Aphantasia 00:21 - Oct 11 with 3682 viewshatch

Or the inability to picture/visualise anything. Recently discovered my wife has it (not something you actually talk about much to realise it). Apparently 1-5% of people have this which should mean statistically a good few on here.

Anyone heard of it before? I find it baffling, the idea that she can’t picture my face or her family’s faces or our wedding day or our front door etc.

She knows that an apple is green/red and has a stem etc but she can’t visualise it.
Aphantasia on 11:10 - Oct 11 with 1211 viewsMookamoo

Aphantasia on 11:03 - Oct 11 by Ewan_Oozami

I'm between 1 and 2, in fact my whole remembering stuff is based around using image representation and I think visual artists/graphic designers, sculptors, etc, must be around 1 to do what they do - I'd imagine someone like Hoppy would be around 1?

I'm a designer an I'm a 1. Have to remember not to get frustrated with clients that constantly want to see alternatives, especially in different colours. For example, when they ask to see it in red, they can't just look at the one I've produced in blue and imagine it red like I can.

Most of what I do is recreating what is in my head using software. The sooner someone invents a brain implant that works with Adobe products the better.
Aphantasia on 11:46 - Oct 11 with 1175 viewsDarkBrandon

I have it too. I’ve wondered if it is one reason why I am a terrible artist
[Post edited 11 Oct 2023 11:47]
Aphantasia on 11:49 - Oct 11 with 1171 viewsblueasfook

They were great raves back in the day [that smiley with the googly face]

Elite Poster. TWTD Hottest Poster (1999, 2000, 2001).
Poll: How do you think season will end for us?

Aphantasia on 11:52 - Oct 11 with 1163 viewsfarkenhell

Aphantasia on 09:38 - Oct 11 by _clive_baker_

I'm a 5. I certainly don't see an image.