Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Tonight opened my eyes 21:35 - May 16 with 12164 viewsStokieBlue

I've had an interesting night. I don't want this to become a them versus us rant or one side is better than the other. Both sides have failed.

I graduated the best part of 20 years ago in a vibrant city and tonight I met one of my very best friend's in Nottingham to see what things are like 20 years later.

I'll tell you the place is a wasteland. Blame whoever you like for his but it's crap. Party partisanship has got is to this position. The city is awful, the is no investment and is unrecognisable from the place I knew in the 90's.

I don't think JC tax grab is the way to sort this. Who cares if something is nationalised or not. 100m would sort Nottingham out completely. A tiny amount from their nationalisation budget and I'm sure there are many places just the same

Shoot me and down and insult, that's fine. But tonight opened my eyes an massive nationalisation isn't the way.

Critic all you like, I won't moan.

SB

Edit: In hindsight I think I phrased the above badly. I do think there should be more investment outside of London and Manchester and in my opinion it's something that should come higher on the agenda than nationalisation when the money is distributed. Maybe there will be enough for both but that seems unlikely.

[Post edited 17 May 2017 10:17]

Avatar - IC410 - Tadpoles Nebula

Tonight opened my eyes on 21:40 - May 16 with 4334 viewsGromheort

The innate suggestion in your post is that nationalisation is the central plank of JC's package. It isn't. That's just a return to the rationality of public good provision, kicking right wing ideology in the teeth. The central plank is investment. I know, for example, all about Stoke. Left behind by Thatcher's deindustrialisation and unaided by New Labour's soft Toryism. All change now.