Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Dr Dan may be planning a letter, or not... you decide 17:49 - May 30 with 853 viewswkj

Copy and paste

===

Dr Daniel Poulter MP <daniel.poulter.mp@parliament.uk>
4:07 PM (1 hour ago)
to me

Dear Mr WKJ,

Following the publication of the Sue Gray report, I would like to provide you with an update in relation to the gatherings that took place at 10 Downing Street and across Whitehall during the Covid pandemic.

Many people have also written to me about the Police investigation into the leader of the Labour Party, Sir Keir Starmer, and other senior Labour Party figures, for an incident of alleged Covid rule-breaking in County Durham. I am sure that you will appreciate that it would not be appropriate for me to comment further upon this matter whilst there is an ongoing Police investigation.

As you will be aware, I am an NHS hospital doctor. Throughout the Covid pandemic I was working in hospitals and caring for patients with Covid. I cared for a number of patients who would still have been alive and with us today if it was not for Covid. Like many people, I obeyed the rules, and I am as unhappy as you are that people in very senior positions in both the Civil Service and in politics appear to have breached the very same rules they were making for others to follow.

However, there is a much bigger issue at stake which is of trust and integrity in high public office. The most serious charge against the Prime Minister is that of knowingly misleading parliament. Given the scale of rule-breaking in No.10 and across Whitehall that has now been confirmed by the Sue Gray report, I find it difficult to accept that the Prime Minister was unaware. His repeated assurances in Parliament that there was no rule-breaking lack credibility.