Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Any recommendations for a new email account provider pls, TWTD hive? 22:18 - Nov 16 with 1428 viewsRyorry

Outlook/hotmail has been getting worse & worse - I now get c. 100 junk emails daily, of which c 75% are phishing/spam, increasing numbers of them in my inbox rsther than junk - while despite all the filters set, 'safe senders' on my list aren't getting through at all, simply never arrive in any folde, disappear to the ether.

Doesn't help that I've been using the old outlook one since about 1998, so have had a long time to be tagged, & at least half of the junk is from the USA.

Only essentials are that it's free & reliable.

Poll: Why can't/don't we protest like the French do? 🤔

Any recommendations for a new email account provider pls, TWTD hive? on 07:00 - Nov 17 with 1226 viewsmuhrensleftfoot

Gmail. Built in spam filters catch most actual spam. I still get loads of advertising stuff but mainly from sellers I’ve used before. These are normally auto filtered into “promotions” tab, and generally you can unsubscribe from most of these if you wish.
Any recommendations for a new email account provider pls, TWTD hive? on 07:12 - Nov 17 with 1217 viewsDanTheMan

As above poster said, GMail is your best bet really.

One thing to consider, if you need to make an account on something but it's for one off use, consider using Firefox Relay.

https://relay.firefox.com/

Combine that with something like Bitwarden for keeping your usernames and passwords together and you should have a nice clean inbox.

Another trick you can also do with Gmail, if you're email is something@gmail.com, you can add a plus (+) after everything before the @ and it will still get sent to you. So for example you could use something+throwaway@gmail.com for anything that requires and email you don't care about and then create a filter in your inbox to just archive that stuff immediately.