Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased 16:54 - Jun 8 with 602 viewsThe_Flashing_Smile

relative's name?

My mum's been contacted by a company calling itself Finexit Law LLP of Conneticut USA (finexlaw.com). I've put all their correspondence through ChatGPT and it's given 8 red flags... the biggest of which are that they haven't supplied any proof these shares exist, and they want money up front to sell them!

On the face of it, for someone without any legal knowledge, they look like they might be legit. But you don't have to dig far to find they're not. I wouldn't be surprised if they've gone through the death register and target grieving families that way. Nasty stuff!

Anyone else seen/had something like this? (I'm also posting this as a warning as I know a few of you have had relatives die recently).

Trust the process. Trust Phil.
Blog: Between The Lines, Champions League Final Edition - PSG Tips

0
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:03 - Jun 8 with 544 viewsChurchman

Sounds like a scam to me. One whiff of a bank account and I suspect they’ll be emptying it faster than an SNP Chief Executive purloining the donations. Avoid and nice one for warning people.

Fees in my very limited experience form part of the sale itself. Certainly that’s the case for the brother in law’s heaps of shares. People like Equiniti normally broker share selling.
[Post edited 8 Jun 17:04]
1
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:09 - Jun 8 with 502 viewsBloomBlue

Nobody needs money up front to sell shares. They sell the shares, take their admin fee from the sale profit and transfer the rest to the share owner.
Remember that old saying, if it sounds too good to be real, its not real.
1
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:17 - Jun 8 with 469 viewsbluelagos

No one needs money up front to sell shares. Classic 419 advance fee fraud by the sound of it.

Poll: What do you call the Premier League?
Blog: Time's Up Mark

0
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:22 - Jun 8 with 458 viewsfactual_blue

I think their website tells you all you need to know.


https://finexlaw.com/

Ta neige, Acadie, fait des larmes au soleil
Poll: Best at sniping
Blog: [Blog] The Shape We're In

0
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:24 - Jun 8 with 432 viewsThe_Flashing_Smile

Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:22 - Jun 8 by factual_blue

I think their website tells you all you need to know.


https://finexlaw.com/


I mentioned it in my OP.
Yep, very generic, no detail about any of their apparent lawyers/staff.

Trust the process. Trust Phil.
Blog: Between The Lines, Champions League Final Edition - PSG Tips

0
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:28 - Jun 8 with 419 viewsfactual_blue

Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:24 - Jun 8 by The_Flashing_Smile

I mentioned it in my OP.
Yep, very generic, no detail about any of their apparent lawyers/staff.


Really? It tells me the resource isn't available on this server.

Edit

Page opens without my VPN activated.
[Post edited 8 Jun 17:30]

Ta neige, Acadie, fait des larmes au soleil
Poll: Best at sniping
Blog: [Blog] The Shape We're In

0
Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 21:26 - Jun 8 with 145 viewsDJR

Anyone had a company contact them about apparent shares held in a deceased on 17:24 - Jun 8 by The_Flashing_Smile

I mentioned it in my OP.
Yep, very generic, no detail about any of their apparent lawyers/staff.


The company might be legit but the type of business-oriented work they do is far removed from beneficiary tracing.

I can only assume someone is pretending to be them, if indeed they exist. And giving it a US flavour may give it more prestige for the few who might try to find out who they are.

EDIT: there is a company called Finex LLP in this country which is different to the company linked above which is called Finexit.

https://www.finexlondon.com/th

https://register.fca.org.uk/s/

Once again, the sort of work they do doesn't seem to involve beneficiary tracing but they do appear to have real people.
[Post edited 8 Jun 21:38]
2
About Us Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookies Online Safety Advertising
© TWTD 1995-2026