Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Advice needed turning a hobby into a business 09:35 - Jun 27 with 6002 viewsBehindBlueEyes

Hi all,

I know there's a few business people on here so thought I'd seek out a little advice.

I've always been able to draw, mostly draw a few pictures every once in a while and then forget about it for a few years. Recently I've been drawing people's pets to help raise funds for a charity close to me. People send me a picture of their pets via the charities Facebook page, I draw it, send it to them and they make a donation to the charity.

This has been going really well and everyone I've drawn a picture for has said I should be doing it for a living which I'm now starting to consider.

What would be the best way to start something like that? Opening my own Facebook page so they can contact me & share it? Designing a website?

My worry would be how to take payments (the charity takes care of that). Is there a cheap online payment system I can easily add to a website or would it be better to use an Ebay account to start with?

Any thoughts or ideas gratefully received!

Thanks for your help.

Blog: Kundai Benyu – The Golden Shot?

Advice needed turning a hobby into a business on 09:43 - Jun 27 with 5614 viewsbadadski

start with small sales to family and friends, they get your work up in their houses which helps show case. Check local galleries to see if hey have small areas to show case. Woodbridge is good area to check although lots of competition.

eBay is fine as reaches far and wide and only takes one person to like your work for them to buy.
With art it will never really ever be a a quick win business unless you established as it can take ages to sell some art pieces and so many people out their are also doing it.