Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Cricket question 17:47 - Jun 4 with 1674 viewsITFCson

I’m completely new to cricket, after betting on Pakistan yesterday I thought I’d watch some cricket for the first time in my life and was surprised that I quite enjoyed it.

So I’ve been watching today...after rain the revised amount of overs was 41 per team. Sri Lanka were all out for 201. However despite also been given 41 overs Afghanistan were given a revised target of 187. Why is this please? Is it because the bowlers have a advantage just by having the knowledge that the opponents only have 41 overs? (And despite Sri Lanka only had 41 also when the game started it was presumed they’d have 50 so the Afghan bowlers didn’t have to same advantage?)

Cricket question on 17:51 - Jun 4 with 1650 viewscatch74

Hope this helps!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duckworth%E2%80%93Lewis%E2%80%93Stern_method

Poll: Who are the Numbskulls?

Cricket question on 17:53 - Jun 4 with 1647 viewsGuthrum

Yes, pretty much.

Duckworth-Lewis is incredibly complicated as a way of working out revised totals, but seems to work very well.

Good Lord! Whatever is it?
Poll: McCarthy: A More Nuanced Poll
Blog: [Blog] For Those Panicking About the Lack of Transfer Activity

Cricket question on 17:54 - Jun 4 with 1643 viewshampstead_blue

As a lifelong cricket lover I would recommend you tune into TMS- Test Match Special.

It's on 5live Sports Extra.

You will be amused, entertained, and loved.

It is radio as it should be....awesome......

Assumption is to make an ass out of you and me. Those who assume they know you, when they don't are just guessing. Those who assume and insist they know are daft and in denial. Those who assume, insist, and deny the truth are plain stupid. Those who assume, insist, deny the truth and tell YOU they know you (when they don't) have an IQ in the range of 35-49.
Poll: Best Blackpool goal