Oh well. 21:46 - Aug 18 with 1763 views | Scuzzer | Let's rip up the rule book. A decision that goes against all that has been interpreted in previous seasons. Lucky Leeds again. |  |
| |  |
Oh well. on 21:48 - Aug 18 with 1686 views | FrimleyBlue | Not a chance we get that pen last season |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 21:48 - Aug 18 with 1696 views | SWLondonBlue93 | Actually it's law 14.1.5a, a defender must dislocate their own arm if the ball is heading towards it |  | |  |
Oh well. on 21:54 - Aug 18 with 1536 views | Trequartista | I think he's got time to move his arm away as the shot was not from close range. |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 21:57 - Aug 18 with 1476 views | Scuzzer |
Oh well. on 21:54 - Aug 18 by Trequartista | I think he's got time to move his arm away as the shot was not from close range. |
Move his arm away from where? Good grief he's not a contortionist man! |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 21:58 - Aug 18 with 1461 views | tonybied |
Oh well. on 21:54 - Aug 18 by Trequartista | I think he's got time to move his arm away as the shot was not from close range. |
He is literally moving it behind his back, from by his side as the ball hits him. He couldn't do any more than remove his arm to stop the ball hitting it! The ball was also deflected on the way through too! Absolutely crazy decision! |  | |  |
Oh well. on 22:01 - Aug 18 with 1364 views | Wickets | What a ridiculous decision. |  | |  |
Oh well. on 22:01 - Aug 18 with 1356 views | Trequartista |
Oh well. on 21:57 - Aug 18 by Scuzzer | Move his arm away from where? Good grief he's not a contortionist man! |
He's allowed to move the rest of his body. He tried to chest it away and misjudged the flight of the ball and it hit his arm. |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:02 - Aug 18 with 1310 views | Trequartista |
Oh well. on 21:58 - Aug 18 by tonybied | He is literally moving it behind his back, from by his side as the ball hits him. He couldn't do any more than remove his arm to stop the ball hitting it! The ball was also deflected on the way through too! Absolutely crazy decision! |
Why can he not move his body - that was not a shot from 3 yards away where there is no time to move the body. |  |
|  | Login to get fewer ads
Oh well. on 22:04 - Aug 18 with 1255 views | BlacknGoldnBlue |
Oh well. on 22:01 - Aug 18 by Trequartista | He's allowed to move the rest of his body. He tried to chest it away and misjudged the flight of the ball and it hit his arm. |
I don't think it was a penalty. However, because it was given I dont think it was going to be overturned. Had the linesman not given it I don't think VAR gives it. |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:06 - Aug 18 with 1221 views | tractor_lady |
Oh well. on 22:02 - Aug 18 by Trequartista | Why can he not move his body - that was not a shot from 3 yards away where there is no time to move the body. |
I Will have a pint of what your on :-) |  | |  |
Oh well. on 22:08 - Aug 18 with 1178 views | Trequartista |
Oh well. on 22:04 - Aug 18 by BlacknGoldnBlue | I don't think it was a penalty. However, because it was given I dont think it was going to be overturned. Had the linesman not given it I don't think VAR gives it. |
Yeah its a marginal decision, not clear and obvious, I agree with there being not overturn whichever call was made. [Post edited 18 Aug 22:10]
|  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:09 - Aug 18 with 1143 views | Trequartista |
Oh well. on 22:06 - Aug 18 by tractor_lady | I Will have a pint of what your on :-) |
Just checked the video. He's 15 yards from where the ball is struck. It's a decent strike, but not a rocket. He has time for it to avoid his arm. He chooses to try and chest it out. The ball doesn't just strike him, he plays the ball. Just seen it actually takes a slight deflection, so makes it more marginal, but I still think it's not close enough. [Post edited 18 Aug 22:12]
|  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:12 - Aug 18 with 1079 views | BlacknGoldnBlue |
Oh well. on 22:09 - Aug 18 by Trequartista | Just checked the video. He's 15 yards from where the ball is struck. It's a decent strike, but not a rocket. He has time for it to avoid his arm. He chooses to try and chest it out. The ball doesn't just strike him, he plays the ball. Just seen it actually takes a slight deflection, so makes it more marginal, but I still think it's not close enough. [Post edited 18 Aug 22:12]
|
Its deflected...I take it you can see that |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:16 - Aug 18 with 1040 views | Trequartista |
Oh well. on 22:12 - Aug 18 by BlacknGoldnBlue | Its deflected...I take it you can see that |
Only after I saw the video replay (see edit). I'll now say that's a bit harsh - 50/50. Now i'm watching a different angle being analysed by Neville and Carragher who both think its a pen (not that that makes a difference) and it looks a pen again as he's moving into the ball! 70/30 pen. [Post edited 18 Aug 22:23]
|  |
|  |
Sky have really analysed it, and all feel it’s a penalty on 22:21 - Aug 18 with 945 views | unstableblue | Deliberate movement towards ball with arm |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:24 - Aug 18 with 906 views | pointofblue | Have to laugh we're sitting here criticising a dodgy handball decision after what happened at Birmingham. |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 22:38 - Aug 18 with 765 views | ITFCson | It’s a clear pen. As backed up by the ref, VAR and the ex footballers in the sky studio. The only people who say otherwise are Tarkowski, Moyes and some neutral fans who don’t seem to understand the rules. |  | |  |
Oh well. on 23:03 - Aug 18 with 638 views | Joey_Joe_Joe_Junior | Was more of a pen than our was at St Andrews, both were technically the correct call. |  |
|  |
Oh well. on 23:18 - Aug 18 with 569 views | Smoresy | If he stays in his blocking position then the ball flies past him, which Tarkowski sees and so he leans and stoops and uses his arm. I sympathise because he may well have misjudged his ability to reach the ball with his chest, but I think any club will be lucky to get away with one of those in the PL this season. Would have been very different if Tarkowski was already in that position and the ball just struck him. |  | |  |
Oh well. on 01:33 - Aug 19 with 357 views | berkstractorboy |
Oh well. on 23:18 - Aug 18 by Smoresy | If he stays in his blocking position then the ball flies past him, which Tarkowski sees and so he leans and stoops and uses his arm. I sympathise because he may well have misjudged his ability to reach the ball with his chest, but I think any club will be lucky to get away with one of those in the PL this season. Would have been very different if Tarkowski was already in that position and the ball just struck him. |
This. If he was still and it struck his arm where it did I don't think they give it. The fact he leaned to his left into the ball looks like he was trying to play the ball and if you mis-judge and it hits your arm there are consequences. |  | |  |
| |