Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
How soon is too soon to quit a new job? 17:59 - Sep 18 with 4882 viewsSarge

I started a week ago and I hate it. It’s more or less in the subject area I did my degrees in and to the outsider sounds like a really cool job. The money is good and it can lead me on a path to some seriously decent salaries.

The problem is I don’t enjoy any aspect of it. I did a temporary job for 9 months to bridge the gap between finishing my degree and starting my grad job and I loved that and they asked me to stay there. I’d never command big salaries in that job and part of me would feel I’m wasting my potential if I went back to it but I really did like working there

I’ve moved across the country for this job and away from all my friends and family and I don’t know what to do, I certainly can’t face this for the next 40/45 years..
How soon is too soon to quit a new job? on 18:01 - Sep 18 with 4113 viewsJ2BLUE

Can you put a price on happiness? Would the old place take you back?

Truly impaired.
Poll: Will you buying a Super Blues membership?

How soon is too soon to quit a new job? on 18:03 - Sep 18 with 4102 viewsSteve_M

A week is too soon, you might well be absolutely right in your initial impressions but give it a little time. I suspect the move makes you feel more vulnerable now so at least you can discuss here.

Work is always going to be a balance between location, salary and enjoyment. How much you want of each is the difficult bit. The thing is most jobs are crap at times, and the first few weeks on one are usually crapper.

Give it a month and reassess. You can quit at any time, you can go back to it less easily.

Poll: When are the squad numbers out?
Blog: Cycle of Hurt

How soon is too soon to quit a new job? on 18:04 - Sep 18 with 4095 viewsRyorry

"I certainly can’t face this for the next 40/45 years.."