Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Ads or your processing power? Bitcoin harvester 14:46 - Nov 9 with 7211 viewsGavTWTD

I've just recently found that we could run software on your browser that could harvest bitcoins. A company has designed the software so you have to opt into the service, with the idea that you no longer get ads on the site, instead you're paying for TWTD by harvesting bitcoins for us.

I've not even emailed Phil about this as this post is just for discussion, and I've no intention of implementing this without a lot more research and discussions with you lot, but it sounded an interesting idea and an alternative to ads which everyone hates, especially me.

I've no idea how much it would generate for us. The company that just introduced itself to me was CoinHive and I'm sure there are more.

I have no knowledge of bitcoins at all. I don't understand it, I'm not that embarassed to say, I just found it interesting.

Tractor boys website with a harvester?

If you liked my post, please take the time to upvote it. It's very much appreciated.
Poll: Will you watch the Championship Play-Off Final?
Blog: Man v Fat Football - A Personal Blog

Ads or your processing power? Bitcoin harvester on 14:48 - Nov 9 with 4643 viewsfooters

Nice in theory, but the computing power necessary to solve a block, and thus make money, is so enormous that a network of potentially millions of home PCs would be necessary. The supercomputers currently used to maintain the BTC network consume tens of thousands of pounds in heating costs alone to run.

I'd steer clear, Gav.

Oh, and I like waking up to those Boohoo and Missguided adverts. So please keep those.
[Post edited 9 Nov 2018 14:49]

Dear old footers KC - Private Counsel to Big Farmer - Liberator of Vichy TWTD
Poll: Battle of the breakfast potato... who wins?

Ads or your processing power? Bitcoin harvester on 14:54 - Nov 9 with 4613 viewswkj