Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Positive virus news 10:13 - Jun 1 with 3404 viewsmikeybloo88

Is the virus naturally dying? It seems so in Europe .... scientific modellers here supplying input to the govt also forecasting very low deaths by end June. Let's hope they're correct.

https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-health-coronavirus-italy-virus/new-coronavirus
Positive virus news on 10:18 - Jun 1 with 2909 viewslinhdi

Spain registered just 2 deaths yesterday, but have extended their emergency measures by 2 weeks to get rid of the bug.

If we get to single-figure daily deaths in the next 3 months I will be amazed. And very wrong!
Positive virus news on 10:21 - Jun 1 with 2879 viewssparks

I am not a doctor- but I find the comments baffling and wonder whether something is lost in transalation.

It is said that people tested are showing less viral load. Could that not be a a function of the distancing measures- such that people who get infected tend to have only small loads due to reduced contact?

Does the viral load have any bearing on the "strength" of the virus? i.e. I know that someone with a lower viral load is less likely to become very ill. But is there any suggestion that a person with X viral load today, is any less at risk than someone witht he same level of viral load 3 months ago?

The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely to be preferred to the presence of those who think they've found it. (Sir Terry Pratchett)
Poll: Is Fred drunk this morning?

Positive virus news on 10:30 - Jun 1 with 2845 viewsgordon

Those quotes aren't expressing anything in clear scientific terms. Possibly the Italian Karol Sikora?
Positive virus news on 10:35 - Jun 1 with 2813 viewsBasuco

Positive virus news on 10:18 - Jun 1 by linhdi

Spain registered just 2 deaths yesterday, but have extended their emergency measures by 2 weeks to get rid of the bug.