Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Contracting 23:53 - Sep 24 with 1489 viewsgreyhound

Anyone on here do it.

Got an interview lined up. I'm currently full time employed with a very good benefit package, but money on the 18 month contract is a 75% increase.

Just interested in some risk vs reward experience from people. See. S like a huge leap. No holiday pay etc
Contracting on 06:59 - Sep 25 with 1403 viewspennblue

Pro's: you get more cash, you don't get involved in politics

Con's: easy to never take a holiday, perception is you have more than you do, not neccesarily good for career, ie. if you want to end up at the top, contracting is not usually the best route

If cash > career; contract

Poll: How are we going to try and undermine the manager today?

Contracting on 07:26 - Sep 25 with 1357 viewsPlums

I’ve been doing it for about 4 years. I personally haven’t looked back but I was director of a company before so had some idea about running a business. You need to think of it in those terms otherwise you can come unstuck with admin, accounts etc.
Good luck!

It's 106 miles to Portman Road, we've got a full tank of gas, half a round of Port Salut, it's dark... and we're wearing blue tinted sunglasses.
Poll: Which recent triallist should we have signed?

Contracting on 07:34 - Sep 25 with 1346 viewsNictate

I have been doing it 7 months now. Highly recommend it.
I had the luxury of a settled contract from previous employer so had a decent safety net.
As you know the pay is better, a decent accountant is invaluable to help best manage this, national insurance, divs, tax etc...
Quality of life is better, is my own opinion. Go for it.
Contracting on 11:42 - Sep 25 with 1259 viewsgreyhound

Contracting on 07:34 - Sep 25 by Nictate

I have been doing it 7 months now. Highly recommend it.
I had the luxury of a settled contract from previous employer so had a decent safety net.